NACRO is pleased to announce our annual awards to recognize and celebrate outstanding individuals in our field.

NACRO's success is dependent on our engaged and involved members who volunteer their time and talent to advance our profession and the organization. Our volunteers are recognized through our NACRO Impact Program and through our annual awards.

Please consider nominating eligible NACRO members for these awards. If you have questions regarding a nominee's eligibility for these awards please contact [email protected]

Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award

The Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award: This award honors a NACRO member or past member who exemplifies servant leadership and NACRO values as a volunteer-led organization. The award focuses attention on individuals who personify the profession’s highest standards, and in so doing, elevates academic corporate relations overall.


  • 5 years or more as an active NACRO member
  • Made a significant and lasting impact on the field, serving the profession over an extended period of ten years or more
  • Serves NACRO as an ambassador, telling the NACRO story throughout the field
  • Demonstrated service to the organization through two or more of the following or comparable over a period of three or more years:
    • Committee participation
    • Committee Chair
    • Subcommittee Chair
    • Conference presenter/moderator
    • Ad hoc committee participation
    • Board member
    • Professional development activities:
      • Webinar delivery
      • Bootcamp presenter
Past Recipients:
2021 - Roger Van Hoy
2020 - Mona Ellerbock
2019 - Mary Beth Maddox (awarded posthumously)
 Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award Nomination

Rising Star Award

The NACRO Rising Star Award: This award honors an early career NACRO member who is an emerging leader in academic corporate relations. Rising Stars have shown growth in contribution to the profession and increased levels of leadership and responsibility.


  • 2 years or more as an active NACRO member
  • Early career professional with 5 years or less in the field
  • Stands out in energy and dedication on committee or professional development activity in which he/she is involved at NACRO
  • Receives high praise from committee chairs and/or session review for presentations given
  • Demonstrated passion for the profession
Past Recipients:
2021 - Ben Miller
2020 - Jill Abele
2019 - David Ortendahl
 Rising Star Award Nomination

Volunteer of the Year Award

The NACRO Volunteer of the Year Award: Established in 2020, this award honors a NACRO member who has demonstrated exceptional service to the organization in the current year. The award honors individuals that have reached out to meet others in the organization, demonstrated exceptional work as a NACRO volunteer, unselfishly worked with others to improve the organization, its mission, and/or performed services or tasks that are not part of their normal assignments.


  • Currently serving as an active NACRO member on at least one committee
  • Participation required at Midwinter
  • Demonstrated leadership abilities and knowledge of operations and priorities
  • Significant contributions to the strategic goals of a committee
    • ownership of a project, process, subcommittee
    • going above and beyond to move work forward
    • customer service oriented at all levels (leadership / membership)
  • Additional effort beyond standard committee work (building educational content, session presenter at conference or via webinars, volunteering at events, etc.)
  • Serving as a natural spokesperson for the value of NACRO volunteerism - a NACRO Champion
Past Recipients:
2021 - Joseph Huang
2020 - Roxana Ryan
 Volunteer of the Year Award Nomination

President's Award

The President’s Award seeks to recognize and honor a member of the current board of directors who has provided exceptional service to the organization. This is a discretionary award, and will be selected by the NACRO co-Presidents if there is a notable honoree.

Awards Process and Timeline Details

For questions or additional information, please email [email protected].