NACRO is pleased to announce our annual awards for 2021 to recognize and celebrate outstanding individuals in our field.

The Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award: This award honors honors a NACRO member or past member who exemplifies servant leadership and NACRO values as a volunteer-led organization. The award focuses attention on individuals who personify the profession’s highest standards, and in so doing elevates academic corporate relations overall.

The NACRO Rising Star Award: This award honors honors an early career NACRO member who is an emerging leader in academic corporate relations. Rising Stars have shown growth in contribution to the profession and increased levels of leadership and responsibility.

The NACRO Volunteer of the Year Award: This award honors a NACRO member who has demonstrated exceptional service to the organization in the current year. The award honors individuals that have reached out to meet others in the organization, demonstrated exceptional work as a NACRO volunteer, unselfishly worked with others to improve the organization, its mission, and/or performed services or tasks that are not part of their normal assignments.

The President’s Award: New in 2021, the President’s Award seeks to recognize and honor a member of the current board of directors who has provided exceptional service to the organization. This is a discretionary award, and will be selected by the NACRO co-Presidents if there is a notable honoree.

We are currently seeking nominations from our membership for the Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award, the NACRO Rising Star Award, and the NACRO Volunteer of the Year

Mary Beth Maddox Lifetime Service Award

Winner: Roger VanHoy


  • 5 years or more as an active NACRO member
  • Made a significant and lasting impact on the field, serving the profession over an extended period of ten years or more
  • Serves NACRO as an ambassador, telling the NACRO story throughout the field
  • Demonstrated service to the organization through two or more of the following or comparable over a period of three or more years:
    • Committee participation
    • Committee Chair
    • Subcommittee Chair
    • Conference presenter/moderator
    • Ad hoc committee participation
    • Board member
    • Professional development activities:
      • Mastery Facilitator
      • Webinar delivery
      • Bootcamp presenter

Rising Star Award

Winner: Ben Miller


  • 2 years or more as an active NACRO member
  • Early career professional with 5 years or less in the field
  • Stands out in energy and dedication on committee or professional development activity in which he/she is involved at NACRO
  • Receives high praise from committee chairs and/or session review for presentations given
  • Demonstrated passion for the profession

Volunteer of the Year Award

Winner: Joseph Huang


  • Currently serving as an active NACRO member on at least one committee
  • Participation required at Midwinter
  • Demonstrated leadership abilities and knowledge of operations and priorities
  • Significant contributions to the strategic goals of a committee
    • ownership of a project, process, subcommittee
    • going above and beyond to move work forward
    • customer service oriented at all levels (leadership / membership)
  • Additional effort beyond standard committee work (building educational content, session presenter at conference or via webinars, volunteering at events, etc.)
  • Serving as a natural spokesperson for the value of NACRO volunteerism - a NACRO Champion

An overview of the process and criteria for the 2021 awards can be found HERE.

For questions or additional information, please email [email protected].